Japanese Language Proficiency Test

(for teens and adults)

Teacher-student ratio: 1:8

The Japanese Language Proficiency Test is, in principle, an examination for the ability to measure and authenticate Japanese language proficiency for those whose native language is not Japanese. Starting from 1984, it will be held around the world on the first Sunday of December each year. Since 2010, the Japanese language proficiency test has been changed from four levels to five levels – N1, N2, N3, N4, and N5. In July 2010, only three levels of N1 to N3 were held (including cities in Japan, China, South Korea, Taiwan, and Hong Kong). In December, five levels of N1-N5 exams were held. In Japan, it is organised by the Japan International Education Support Association, and outside Japan, it is co-organized by Japan’s International Exchange Fund and a designated group of international exchange funds. The Hong Kong Institute of Japanese Language Education is a co-organizer of the Hong Kong and Macau regions, coordinating Hong Kong and Macau.

N5~N4 level

Course hours per class: 96 hours (1.5 hours per session)

N3~N2 level

Course hours per class: 96 hours (1.5 hours per session)

N1 level

Hours of study per class: 144 hours (1.5 hours per session)

169 thoughts on “Japanese Language Proficiency Test

Comments are closed.